On Wednesday, September 9, following recent announcements for Scotland, quarantine restrictions were enforced across the UK for those returning from seven Greek islands, including Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Santorini, Serifos, Tinos, and Zakynthos (Zante), due to an increase in Covid-19 infection rates. At the time of writing, the rest of Greece currently remains exempt from Foreign, Commonwealth & Development office (FCDO) quarantine restrictions.

However, the new rules and regional quarantine restrictions have caused confusion among British tourists completing the ‘Passenger Locator Form’ upon their return to the UK, as the form did not previously include a section to distinguish between different parts of the same country.

This meant that those travelling from Greek islands included on the quarantine list, such as Crete, could simply write down ‘Greece’ as the place they were visiting and avoid having to self-isolate for 14-days upon their return.

However, we have since learned that all Passenger Locator Forms now include a subsection underneath the “what country are you travelling from” question, which all holidaymakers are required to complete and specify exactly where they have been on holiday.

Those arriving from Greek islands on the FCDO’s quarantine list will then need to follow the self-isolate procedure.

Holidaymakers who are forced to quarantine upon their return should be aware that travel insurance does not offer cover for any expenses incurred as a result of mandatory quarantine, for example, loss of earnings. They, therefore, will be unable to claim for any related expenses.