The UK government is expected to reduce the number of destinations included on the current “red list”, either today or tomorrow.

The update will follow the simplification of the previous “traffic light system”, whereby countries are categorised into two groups: “red” no-go destinations and “Rest of World” (ROW) low-risk destinations.

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) has already updated its travel advice for over 30 previously “red” countries, including Bangladesh, Gambia, and Malaysia, ahead of the announcement.

At present, popular winter sun destinations including Mexico and the Dominican Republic, remain “red”, which means that anyone arriving from these countries must quarantine for 11-nights in a government-regulated hotel upon their return to the UK – at their own expense.

If the reduced “red list” does not align with the FCDO’s guidance, e.g., Mexico is removed from the “red list” however, FCDO continues to advise all but essential travel, then travellers are encouraged to follow the FCDO’s guidance. The reason being, is the majority of travel insurance providers will not provide cover for Brits to visit countries that the FCDO advises against.

Anyone who travels against the FCDO’s advice, without an essential reason for doing so, risks voiding their travel insurance policy and not being covered for any claims submitted.

Brits hoping to head abroad in the coming days or weeks can keep updated with the latest travel information for the destination they plan to visit by subscribing to country-specific alerts. You can find more information here.