Coronavirus has been declared a pandemic by the World Health Organisation (WHO) as the death toll rises to 4,636 worldwide.

In an attempt to contain the virus from spreading, US President Donald Trump has declared a travel ban on 26 European countries in the Schengen border-free travel area. The UK and Ireland, however, remain unaffected and are still be permitted to travel to the US as normal. Trump has stated that the new rules will be put in place from midnight on Friday 20th March 2020. He believes the new measures are “strong but necessary” – at present, the ban will last for 30 days.

Meanwhile, the UK now has 460 confirmed cases and eight people have died. The British Health Minister is amongst those who tested positive for coronavirus and is currently self-isolating. The UK government has stated that is the UK is currently in the “containment phase”; the first stage of a four-part plan to contain, delay, mitigate and research.

A British holidaymaker has died in Bali after contracting coronavirus. It was revealed that the 53-year-old had underlying health conditions including diabetes, hypertension, hyperthyroid, and lung disease.

The Italian government has closed all shops barring food stores and pharmacies. Bars, restaurants and beauty salons have been asked to shut their doors as the country goes into severe quarantine. Over 800 people have died in Italy.

India has announced it will be suspending all visas barring diplomatic, official, employment and project visas. Overseas citizens who would have been entitled to visa free travel will now also face travel restrictions until 15th April 2020. There are currently 73 confirmed coronavirus cases in India however, like many other countries, the number is expected to increase.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) and India are banning cruise ships after a staggering number of cases had been reported on several cruise ships.

Royal Caribbean Cruises have now placed travel restrictions on anyone who has travelled through mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Iran, South Korea, and Italy in the past 15 days. The cruise line has also stated that they will be carrying out specialised health screenings on anyone who displays any flu-like symptoms.

The following countries have placed restrictions on Chinese passport holders as of 02/10/2020: Bahamas, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Vietnam. More information can be found on its website.     

Do you have a question about coronavirus? Visit our coronavirus FAQs or email us at